Renal Vasculature in AKI and CKD


renal vasculature in AKI and CKD


August 8, 2019


Andreas Patzak, Pontus B. Persson


Hall Ríma A, Harpa Conference Center, Austurbakki 2, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland


Please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The Rima A Hall has a capacity of 66 people. We consider registrations after the principle first come first serve.

Scientific description:

The pathophysiology of acute kidney injury (AKI) and chronic kidney disease (CKD) is incompletely understood. In most of the cases, renal ischemia and hypoxia, respectively, is involved in the event leading to renal damage (Ow CPC et al. Acta Physiol (Oxf). 2017). Despite of numerous studies in this field, there remain unanswered questions. One relates to the renal perfusion in AKI and CKD and the role of renal microvasculature. The meeting will focus on renal perfusion, oxygenation and microvessel function. New methods, which combine innovative imaging techniques with physiological measurements, as well as novel approaches for studying microvessel function in situ and ex vivo will be discussed. Another focus will be on the crosstalk between the kidney and distant organs in renal injury. We are looking forward having fruitful scientific interactions of people who approach the problem from different directions, i.e. experimentally or clinically. This can create new ideas and cooperation on an international scale.


9.00 a.m.

Welcome: Andreas Patzak

9.05 – 10.45 a.m.

Session 1: Physiology and Pathophysiology of renal blood flow control and oxygenation

Chairs: Boye Jensen, Mattias Carlström

  1. Erdmann Seeliger: Control of renal perfusion - physiological and pathophysiological aspects
  2. Prabhleen Singh: Renal Oxygenation and Hemodynamics in Kidney Injury
  3. Olaf Grisk: The role of the sympathetic nervous system in acute kidney injury
  4. Michael Hultström: Interactions between resuscitative drugs and endogenous hormones on renal vascular function in acute kidney injury

10.45-11.00 a.m.

Posters + Coffee break

11.00 a.m. - 12.15 p.m.

Session 2: Methodical approaches for assessing microvascular function

Chairs: Pontus B. Persson

  1. Thoralf Niendorf: BOLD MRI and AKI
  2. Roger Evans: Mathematical modelling of renal blood flow and oxygenation
  3. Rafael Kramann: Fluorescence microangiography for Quantitative Assessment of Peritubular Capillary Changes after AKI in Mice

12.15 -13.35 p.m.

Lunch break

13.35 – 15.15 p.m.

Session 3: Vascular function in kidney injury

Chairs: Pernille B. Hansen, Andreas Patzak

  1. Marion Ludwig: Renal arterial and arteriolar function in hypoxia/re-oxygenation (
  2. Mattias Carlström: Effects of inorganic nitrate on oxidative stress and cardio-vascular dysfunction in models of AKI and CKD
  3. Sven-Erik Ricksten: Renal hemodynamics and oxygenation in critically ill patients
  4. Ruisheng Liu: Long term significance of tubuloglomerular feedback in control of blood pressure

15.15 – 15.40 p.m.

Posters + coffee break

15.40 – 16.55 p.m.

Session 4: Distant organ dysfunction in acute kidney injury

Chairs: Rikke Nørregaard, A. Erik. G. Persson

  1. Faeq Husain-Syed: Lung-kidney crosstalk in the critically ill patient
  2. Enyin Lai: FGF-2 and kidney-brain crosstalk in AKI
  3. Nicola Wilck: Gut microbiome and renal injury

16.55 – 18.35 p.m.

Session 5: Therapeutic approaches

Chairs: Sven-Erik Ricksten, Karl-Heinz Herzig

  1. Rikke Nørregaard: Remote ischemic preconditioning in renal ischemia/reperfusion injury
  2. Frédéric Jaisser: Mineralocorticoid receptor antagonism and renal ischemia/reperfusion injury: implication in renal transplantation
  3. Maarten Koeners: Effekt of H2S donors in rat models of ischemia reperfusion
  4. Patrik Persson: Role of renal proximal tubule in controlling GFR in AKI

Poster Session

We plan with 10-15 posters presented by young Scandinavian scientist and students

List of invited speakers and chairpersons


Mattias Carlström, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

Roger Evans, Cardiovascular Disease Program, Biomedicine Discovery Institute and Department of Physiology, Monash University, Australia

Olaf Grisk, University of Greifswald, Greifswald, Germany

Pernille B. Hansen, Cardiovascular and Renal Research, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Michael Hultström, Division of Integrative Physiology, Department of Medical Cell Biology, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Faeq Husain-Syed, Department of Internal Medicine II, Division of Pulmonology, Nephrology and Critical Care Medicine, University Clinic Giessen and Marburg, Giessen, Germany.

Frédéric Jaisser, Centre de Recherche des Cordeliers, INSERM U1138 Team 1, Paris, France

Boye Jensen, Cardiovascular and Renal Research, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Rafael Kramann, Renal Division, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Department of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Maarten Koeners, School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Biomedical Sciences, University of Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom

Enyin Lai, Department of Physiology, Zhejiang University School of Medicine, Hangzhou, China

Ruisheng Liu, College of Medicine Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology, Tampa FL, USA

Marion Ludwig, Institute of Vegetative Physiology Charite-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Thoralf Niendorf, Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association, Berlin, Germany

Rikke Nørregaard, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Aarhus C., Denmark

Andreas Patzak, Institute of Vegetative Physiology Charite-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Patrick Persson, Division of Integrative Physiology, Department of Medical Cell Biology, Uppsala University, Uppsala, SwedenA

A. Erik Persson, Division of Integrative Physiology, Department of Medical Cell Biology, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Pontus B. Persson; Institute of Vegetative Physiology, Charite-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Sven-Erik Ricksten, Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, Institute of Clinical Sciences, Sahlgrenska Academy, University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden

Erdmann Seeliger, Institute of Vegetative Physiology Charite-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Prabhleen Singh, University of California and VA San Diego Healthcare System, San Diego, USA

Nicola Wilck, Experimental and Clinical Research Center, Max-Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine and the Charité Medical Faculty, Berlin, Germany


Registration and abstract submission opens
September 2018

Abstract submission closes
April 1, 2019

Notification of abstracts 
April 15, 2019

Registration fee advances
May 9, 2019

Congress secretariat


Athygli Conferences
Armula 11
108 Reykjavík

+(354) 568 2800